Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Dakota Cassidy, Ain't Love a Witch? (Witchless in Seattle Mysteries Book 6)

Title:  Ain’t Love a Witch?  (Witchless in Seattle Mysteries Book 6)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Cozy Mystery
Sub-Genre:  Paranormal Fiction
Keywords:  Ghost, Spy, Witch, Cotton Bat, Dog, Turkey, Murder, Mystery
Page Count:  238                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

The name’s Winterbottom. Crispin Alistair Winterbottom. But you can call me Win, ex-international man of mystery, current resident of Plane Limbo, and ghost attached to Stephania Cartwright. 

For reasons unknown to us, Stevie can hear me, perhaps because she’s also an ex. An ex-witch, in her case, having lost her powers shortly before our first fateful meeting, upon her return to her hometown of Ebenezer Falls, Washington. Now, with my guidance—and help from her familiar, Belfry, and the spectral form of my old Russian adversary, Arkady—Stevie spends her days as the town medium, with a little light mystery-solving on the side. 

The latter of which I’d much prefer she’d avoid, considering the constant danger in which Stevie finds herself. You see, the longer we’re together, the deeper and more complex my feelings become for my mini-spy. And the closer she comes to discovering the few secrets I’m still trying to keep…for both our sakes. But when a precious life is on the line, even I know there’s no stopping my dove from going all in to solve the latest mystery that lands on our doorstep—literally.

Along with Arkady and Bel, I’ll assist her in this latest endeavor. Because there’s more than one precious life on the line…including the one I can’t live without.


Review:

Absolutely loved that this was written in Winterbottom’s perspective.  The same lovable characters are in this story and now we get to see them through super spy guy’s eyes.

This time it is Winterbottom’s past that brings trouble to Stevie’s door.  Nothing that two spectral spies, a bat, a dog, and a turkey can’t handle.  Book six in the series brings out a lot of emotional baggage in our main characters.  We get to see Winterbottom’s protective streak take on a whole new level.  Stevie’s maternal instincts are shoved into high gear.  Arkady is stuck in the middle of the turmoil.   Secrets are spilled and it gets messy.

Ain’t Love a Witch? is a fast paced fun read that will leave you feeling satisfied and hopeful in the end.

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Dakota Cassidy, Play That Funky Music White Koi (A Lemon Layne Mystery Book 2)

Title:  Play That Funky Music White Koi (A Lemon Layne Mystery Book 2)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Four Siren Stones
Genre:  Cozy Mystery 
Keywords:  Amateur Sleuth, Murder, Mystery, Spider Monkey
Page Count:  208                
ISBN E-Book:  978-1-944003-82-1
Price:  $3.99
Publisher:  Book Boutiques
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  


Blurb/Summary:


My tiny town of Fig Harbor's just recovering from our last tango with murder, only to be faced with yet another—and this time, it sure looks an awful lot like a vampire's on the loose in the Pacific Northwest.

Vampires are just Twilight fiction, right? 

I'm not so sure after a murder victim is found in my koi pond right next to my favorite fish, Koi George, (not good!) with bite marks on her neck, and a gothic antique chalice next to her body with what sure looks like blood residue. 

By now, everyone knows I can't keep my nose out of a good mystery. But when I literally try to stay out of the fray while our town conspiracy theorist is yelling vampires have invaded our beloved Fig Harbor, I have no choice but to gather up all the garlic I can buy and put my sleuthing shoes back on!”

This contemporary cozy mystery has it all, from the local doomsday prepper to an out of control pet monkey, a mother who would drive a saint to drink, and of course a dead body in the Koi pond.

Review:

Lemon Layne is like a magnet for trouble.  She also has snooping in her blood.  Sleuthing is like her drug.  There is no way she can stay out of the murder mystery that landed in her backyard much to the chagrin of Justice.  All he wants is for Lemon to be safe after her past troubles.

Play That Funky Music White Koi is a cozy murder mystery with some plot twists.  This is book two in the series and we get to see a little more into Lemon’s fiancĂ©e’s murder.  His murder is holding her back from living her life and seeing what is right in front of her.  One of the characters being questioned in the murders helps Lemon realize some of her short comings. 

This is a cute story with the same quirky main characters from the first book.  I was a little disappointed that the characters didn’t have more developmental growth in this second installment.  Very little new information or backstory was shared on Lemon and her main crew.  However, it feels like it is building up to something and I’m curious to see what is coming next.  

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Dakota Cassity, Then Came Wanda...With A Baby Carriage (Accidentally Paranormal Series Book 15)

 Title:  Then Came Wanda…With A Baby Carriage (Accidentally Paranormal Series Book 15)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Four And A Half Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Zombie, Baby, Vampires, Werewolves, Demons, Skinwalker 
Page Count:  198                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital
Price:  $3.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

There’s almost nothing Wanda Jefferson wants more than a family to call her own, and she’s almost got it all with her husband Heath, a beautiful home in the suburbs, and her soul-satisfying work with her best friends as part of OOPS—a paranormal crisis hotline.

Yet still, there’s a tiny hole in Wanda’s heart she longs to fill with a baby. As she and Heath explore adoption, and finally bring home a beautiful baby boy with the support of their friends and family, everything that can go wrong, does.

First, no one, not even Nina the baby-loving vampire, can soothe the cranky infant. He’s cries constantly, bringing Wanda’s insecurities as a new mother out in full force. Then banshee, Sal Brice and sexy skinwalker, Grey Hamlin show up, and yikes, do they have a tale to tell—one that involves a diabolical plan that threatens Wanda’s newly formed family!

You know what that means, right? Hell hath no fury like the OOPS women on a case!


Review:

The OOPS family is growing by leaps and bounds and babies, oh my!
Then Came Wanda…With A Baby Carriage is book 15 in the Accidental Series and it is a novella.  All the main OOPS girls are involved in the plot line along with their husbands.  We get a really clear picture from an outsider’s perspective as to how supportive and loving this extended family is to one another.

I found this to be a tearjerker of a story.  The plot will run the reader through the entire gamut of emotions.  Wanda starts out with the baby and the story works backward for us to see how Wanda ended up with him.

Novellas are shorter than full novels, but this story didn’t lack heart, meat, or satisfaction.  There is not a dull moment!  Dakota’s brand of humor is stamped on this book throughout the emotional roller coaster.

Wanda’s story is a nice addition and transition for the Accidental Series.  The new characters Sal Brice and Grey Hamlin may open new paths for the series.  I can’t wait to see where Dakota Cassidy takes the OOPS girls next!  Don’t miss out on this book if you are an Accidental Series fan!

This book received a Four And A Half Star Rating on Siren Book Reviews.
All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review. 

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Lara Adrian, Midnight Unbound: A Midnight Breed Novella (The Midnight Breed Series)

Title:  Midnight Unbound: A Midnight Breed Novella (The Midnight Breed Series)  
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Breed, Hunter, Vampire
Page Count:  162                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services, LLC
Price:  $2.99
ISBN Print:  CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Price:  $7.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

Blurb/Summary:

As a former Hunter bred to be a killing machine in the hell of a madman's lab, Breed vampire Scythe is a dangerous loner whose heart has been steeled by decades of torment and violence. He has no room in his world for love or desire--especially when it comes in the form of a vulnerable, yet courageous, Breedmate in need of protection. Scythe has loved--and lost--once before, and paid a hefty price for the weakness of his emotions. He's not about to put himself in those chains again, no matter how deeply he hungers for lovely Chiara.

For Chiara Genova, a widow and mother with a young Breed son, the last thing she needs is to put her fate and that of her child in the hands of a lethal male like Scythe. But when she's targeted by a hidden enemy, the obsidian-eyed assassin is her best hope for survival . . . even at the risk of her heart.



Review:


Midnight Unbound is a standalone novella in the Midnight Breed Series.  As a reader, you can truly enjoy and appreciate this story without the entire series background.  Scythe was a secondary character in a previous story and I was hoping that we would get to know more about him.

Scythe and Chiara Genova’s story is a journey of two people that have been betrayed and wronged, both wanting to love again, neither wanting to put themselves out there to be hurt one more time.  Theirs is a story of growing trust and friendship.

Scythe puts himself on the line to protect Chiara and we get to find out how incredibly deadly he is.  Chiara is no shrinking violet and her hard-working attitude shows through in everything she does.

The story has a good plot, moves along at a steady pace, and keeps readers engaged and turning the pages.  Midnight Unbound is a wonderful addition to the series with some surprises.

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review. 

Monday, March 20, 2017

Dakota Cassidy, Prawn of the Dead (A Lemon Layne Mystery, Book 1)

Title:  Prawn of the Dead (A Lemon Layne Mystery, Book 1)
Author:  Dakota Cassidy
Rating:  Siren's Best Book Stone

Genre:  Contemporary Cozy Mystery
Keywords:  Amateur Sleuth, Spider Monkey, Cops, Murder, Zombies
Page Count:  208                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital
Price:  $3.99
Audio CD: $24.99
Publisher:  Book Boutiques
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  

Blurb/Summary:


"My name is Lemon Layne, and if asked to describe myself, like maybe on a dating site (which is never gonna happen), I'd have to go with best convenience store/barbecue joint owner in the Pacific Northwest. I live in the tiny tourist town of Fig Harbor, Washington with my adorably neurotic best friend, Coco Belinski, my a-little-left- of-center (read totally out there) mom, May, and my troublemaking pet monkey, Jessica Fletcher.

Oh, and last but certainly not least, I'm a dyed-in-the-wool amateur sleuth. Yep. I'm literally incapable of resisting a good mystery. No matter how great or small, I love to stick my nose into...er, help solve a crime. From the mysterious disappearance of Ho Hos in my store, to a lost piece of jewelry, I'm always ready to put on my Sherlock Holmes cap (I really do have one. Got it when I was eight).

When I find my mother's ex-boyfriend murdered in our convenience store bathroom with a piece of his skull missing, and my mom's a suspect in a murder investigation, my mystery solving goes from zero to a hundred. To really make matters worse, the town's local conspiracy theorist and official doomsday prepper, Cappie somehow finds out the victim isn't just missing a piece of his skull--he's missing a piece of his brain!

And that's when off the wall Cappie starts spreading word the zombie apocalypse has officially arrived in our tiny burg. Total chaos ensues and I have to pick my way through everything from weekend warrior zombie hunters to medical mysteries in order to catch a killer!"

Review:

Dakota Cassidy has a knack for creating quirky characters that are endearingly addictive.  Lemon Layne and her entourage are a hoot!  This new mystery series was so easy to engage in and connect with the characters that I didn’t want to put it down.  I absolutely love Lemon!  She’s a strong independent woman who knows her own mind and isn’t afraid of anything.  Lemon has a wacky mom named May, a best friend named Coco, and a spider monkey named Jessica Fletcher.  These characters are hysterical together and will have you laughing out loud.

As the story progresses we get to journey along with our amateur sleuth Lemon as she tries to clear her mom’s name of murder.  Of course she gets herself into all kinds of weird predicaments that end up leading her to new clues and trouble.  Cappie, the town wackadoodle, instigates more trouble by egging on zombie hunters based on evidence that the victim is missing some of his brain.

Prawn of the Dead is immensely entertaining.  There is not a dull moment in the book.  The plot moves swiftly and takes on unexpected twists.  It appears that Lemon has a mysterious backstory that I’m hoping will come out later in the series.

If you like a great story, want to be entertained, and love to laugh then look no further this book is for you!

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review. 

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Lara Adrian, For 100 Nights: A 100 Series Novel

Title:  For 100 Nights: A 100 Series Novel
Author:  Lara Adrian
Rating:  Five Siren Stones
Genre:  Erotic Fiction
Sub-Genre:  Contemporary Erotic Romance
Keywords:  Billionaire, Painter, Artists, Mystery, Murder, 100 Series, Suspense
Page Count:  214                
ISBN E-Book:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
Price:  $4.99
Publisher:  Self-Published
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug 

 Blurb/Summary:

Avery Ross is living a dream. After struggling all of her life to make ends meet, a chance meeting with a powerful, darkly handsome man has catapulted her into a dazzling new world of penthouse luxury, elegant parties, and a wild, consuming passion with her billionaire lover, Dominic Baine. Nothing is out of his reach in business or in pleasure, yet the only woman he wants is her. Nick sweeps her to sensual heights she has never dared explore, commanding her body the same way he commands her heart. Yet Avery knows the fantasy she's living cannot last.

With dark secrets and a dangerous enemy haunting her past, Avery must find a way to trust Nick with the truth before it destroys everything they share. But Nick is harboring secrets of his own as well. And when they come to light, Avery will be forced to decide if the love she feels for Nick is strong enough to endure a betrayal she may never be able to forgive.

** This book ends in a cliffhanger. A big one. But you won't be left dangling for long -- the next book in the trilogy, FOR 100 REASONS releases this spring! **

Review:

Avery Ross and Dominic Baine kept me glued to the pages.  For 100 Nights is an Erotic Fiction story so if lots of intimate and detailed scenes turn you off then this is not for you.  If intimate and detailed scenes don’t bother you then you will enjoy the scenes and the story wrapped around them.

For 100 Nights is the continuation of For 100 Days and starts up where that story left off.  You don’t necessarily have to read the first book, but you will be missing some of the story that forms the relationship for Avery and Dominic.  Lara Adrian did a nice job of drawing the reader into this story and recapping what happened in the first book in subtle ways that don’t interfere with the progression of the storyline.

The plot has a nice steady pace and the characters that readers fell in love with in the first book are all present in the second.  More secrets are revealed in For 100 Nights.  The main characters definitely lack communications skills which could stem from the fact that neither have had any healthy relationships in the past.  They seemed to be working through them and then the ending took me by surprise.  Readers are left with a cliff-hanger ending.  However, the ending is suspenseful enough that it won’t make you insane but bring you back for more.

If you are following the 100 Series then you can’t miss this book!

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review. 

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Dianna Love, Dragon King Of Treoir: The Belador Series Book Eight

Title:  Dragon King Of Treoir: The Belador Series Book Eight
Author:  Dianna Love
Rating:  Siren's Best Book Stone
Genre:  Paranormal Fiction
Sub-Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Keywords:  Dragon, Beladors, Immortals, Medb, Witches, Gryphons, Demi-God, Goddesses, Demons 
Page Count:  344                
ISBN Print Book:  978-1940651781
Price:  $12.41
ISBN E-Book:  1940651786
Price: $4.99
Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press LLC
Reviewer:  Stacey Krug  

Blurb/Summary:

The Treoir dragon holds the fate of the Beladors in one hand ... and his own in the other.

The Beladors finally have a true leader in Daegan, their new dragon king, but life is far from secure now that they've inherited his enemies. As their Maistir, Vladimir Quinn played a risky role in freeing the dragon from the lair of their enemy, the Medb. Quinn now faces a heavy price for his part. The Medb queen is out for blood. Vigilante killings erupt among Atlanta's secret preternatural community and all fingers point to the Beladors.  The dragon king has his first real test as a ruler when he has to choose between protecting his people and entering a hostile realm full of deities capable of killing a dragon.  But as a two-thousand-year-old warrior, Daegan has never shied away from any battle.  Quinn, Evalle, Storm and friends race to discover who is trying to turn the entire VIPER coalition against the Beladors before war breaks out. With the clock also ticking down for Quinn, who has been ordered to hand over Kizira's body to the Medb queen, Daegan reveals an even greater reason to prevent the queen from using necromancy on the body beyond the secrets Quinn protects.  

Freedom is never free. Not when the powerful gods and goddesses poised to decide Quinn's fate see an opportunity to also destroy a threat to their existence - the last dragonshifter.

Review:

Dianna Love is the master of subplots!  There is so much going on in this book.  Dragon King Of Treoir is action-packed paranormal fiction sprinkled with romance, mystery, intrigue, and suspense.
 
You would think by the title that this was going to be all about Daegan the Dragon King, but it is so much more.  The main plot picks up from book seven and continues Quinn’s journey.  Dianna Love cleverly introduces a new character into the mix at the beginning that plays a vital role in this story and hopefully stories to come.  Then we are treated to all the subplots and machinations going on in the periphery of the main storyline.  Between the Medb, Macha, Dakkar, Evalle, Storm, Adrianna, Isak, Quinn, the new character Reese, and the new threat to everyone’s existence there is no slowing down once you pick this book up and start reading.

This book does not have as much of a romance undertone to it as past books.  There seemed to be more action and maneuvering of characters.  Dragon King Of Treoir is setting up the next part of Dianna’s series by putting all the characters out there and defining their roles in the war to come.  Dianna Love set up the characters in a way that gave us several stories going on simultaneously.  It was very intriguing and engaging!

If you are just new to The Belador Series, then start from the beginning so you can experience the journey as the author intended.  If you are a fan of the series, then don’t miss this installment or you will be lost for what is to come.

All of the books we receive at Siren Book Reviews are complimentary in exchange for an honest review.